Skip to content

Emotional Freedom Technique

October 12, 2010

I am blessed with a creative and inquisitive Behavioral Health staff. They are interested in how we can help our clients achieve happy and health lives. This leads them to explore and investigate new methods (to us) of potential treatments. One such investigation is of the Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT) developed by Gary Craig in the 1990’s.

At a behavioral health retreat held a few weeks ago, Cathy was invited to present EFT to our staff, and I was invited to attend. We were taught about the EFT technique for interrupting the flow of negative energy to ones body by “Tapping.” Tapping involves making a statement out loud while trapping a number of energy points. On your hand, head and body. These energy points are sometimes referred to as Meridians, and play an essential role in acupuncture. As I understand tapping, the goal is to interrupt the flow of energy that our thoughts release to our body. So, if we are reliving a stressful moment in our mind, our mind sends chemicals to our body that recreates what it did when the original event happened. This is true even if the original threat no longer exists.

After the demonstration, Cathy showed us the video titled “Operation Emotional Freedom.” In the video, a number of veterans with PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) were followed during a week of EFT Energy Therapy. From Vietnam to Afghanistan, Vets have been returning in ever increasing numbers with PTSD, some with symptoms so mind numbing that the Vets choose isolation and self medication over re-engagement with society. In just five days, the results were ASTOUNDING. Each Vet was able to substantially reduce their physical reactions to their memories, and start to resume more normal lives.

I have done additional follow-up research on Tapping, and while initially skeptical that any therapy can work this quickly, I am becoming more accepting. It is easy to use and teach, the theory behind the technique makes sense, and there are results.

EFT kind of reminds me of the medical community reaction to Chiropractic many years ago. Yet I find that Chiropractic care have given me relief from issues that an MD could not give me relief. I am hopeful that EFT can help many of our patients.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Barbara Franks permalink
    October 15, 2010 11:04 AM

    I have heard about EFT, I have been to a chiropractor who practiced that, years of headaches gone within a two-hour session. Clearing my channel to let loose years of pent-up feelings of the loss of my son to suicide helped me move forward.

    Baby steps is ok, I know that now.

Leave a Reply

